Canadian World Junior Team

The Final cuts came down this morning. And here is the team that will be looking to take back the gold medal the United States won on Canadian soil, by doing the same to them in Buffalo, NY.

Coach Dave Cameron seems to have chosen to take a more experienced team. The final cuts saw highly touted 2011 draft eligible players Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Red Deer – WHL) and Ryan Murphy (Kitchener – OHL) sent home along with 2012 draft Ryan Murray (Everett – WHL) despite having strong camps.


Brayden Schenn – Brandon (WHL)
Carter Ashton – Tri-City (WHL)
Casey Cizikas – Mississauga St. Michael’s (OHL)
Brett Connolly – Prince George (WHL)
Cody Eakin – Swift Current (WHL)
Marcus Foligno – Sudbury (OHL)
Curtis Hamilton – Saskatoon (WHL)
Quinton Howden – Moose Jaw (WHL)
Ryan Johansen – Portland (WHL)
Zack Kassian – Windsor (OHL)
Louis Leblanc – Montreal (QMJHL)
Jaden Schwartz – Colorado College (NCAA)
Sean Couturier – Drummondville (QMJHL)


Jared Cowen – Spokane (WHL)
Calvin de Haan – Oshawa (OHL)
Ryan Ellis – Windsor (OHL)
Dylan Olsen – Minnesota-Duluth (NCAA)
Simon Despres – Saint John (QMJHL)
Tyson Barrie – Kelowna (WHL)
Erik Gudbranson – Kingston (OHL)


Olivier Roy – Acadie-Bathurst (QMJHL)
Mark Visentin – Niagara (OHL)

Canada will play three exhibition games beginning Monday against Switzerland, with the 2011 World Junior Hockey Championship beginning on Boxing Day in Buffalo.


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s