Mooseheads Up For League Awards

the offical logo of the the Quebec Major Junior Hockey LeagueA week after splitting th emajor awards for the Halifax Mooseheads Zach Fucale and Nathan MacKinnon have been nominated for league awards. Joining them as potential award winners is teammate Marty Frk, who has also garners conideration a for a league honour. While neither of them are up for the league top award, it certainly a great compliment for the 16-year-old Moosehead co-MVPs to be considered for QMJHL Rookie of the Year as well as Offensive Rookie of the Year (MacKinnon, duh) and Defensive Rookie of the Year (Fucale, see previous “duh”). Both may fall victim to Favourite Mikhail Grigorenko who had a phenomenal rookie campaign that has garnered him NHL Enrty Draft first overall selection consideration, but should be noted is a year ahead of the two Moose. MacKinnon also faces off against Grigorenko and Sea Dog Jonathan Huberdeau for Personality of the Year.

Frk will likely face the same issue, as he is up against Grigorenko in the category of Top Professional Prospect. It is good to see that Frk’s talent is recognized despite the fact that he missed considerable time this season due to medical issues. Also up for the Top Professional Prospect award is Kentville, NS native Brandon Whitney. Whitney, goaltender for the Victoriaville Tigres, also joins MacKinnon and Fucale in the category for Rookie of the Year and Defensive Rookie of the Year.

With the turnaround in the organizations fortune, I would not have been surprised to have seen Dominque Ducharme named as a nominee for Coach of the Year. In his first year as coach, Ducharme took a bottom-feeding team with a lot of young talent and led them to one of the better seasons in team history. In exceeding most peoples expectations, the Mooseheads dealt with significant injuries to important players and positions. In the same vein, GM Cam Russell could have been considered in the GM category, but I would certainly not take anything away from those that did get nominated in those categories.

Ben Duffy of Sackville, NS and the PEI Rocket rounds out the nominations for provincial pride, he’s up for Sportsman of the Year.

Here’s a complete list of those up for QMJHL Awards:

Michel Brière Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Yanni Gourde – Victoriaville Tigres
Mikhail Grigorenko – Québec Remparts
Zach O’Brien – Acadie-Bathurst Titan

RDS Cup – Rookie of the Year
François Brassard – Quebec Remparts
Anthony Duclair – Quebec Remparts
Zachary Fucale – Halifax Mooseheads
Mikhail Grigorenko – Quebec Remparts
Nathan MacKinnon – Halifax Mooseheads
Brandon Whitney – Victoriaville Tigres

Émile “Butch” Bouchard Trophy – Best Defenseman
Nathan Beaulieu – Saint John Sea Dogs
Jérôme Gauthier-Leduc – Rimouski Océanic
Xavier Ouellet – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Frank J. Selke Trophy – Sportsman of the Year
Ben Duffy – PEI Rocket
Zach O’Brien – Acadie-Bathurst Titan
Sébastien Trudeau – Acadie-Bathurst Titan

Michael Bossy Trophy – Top Professional Prospect
Martin Frk – Halifax Mooseheads
Mikhail Grigorenko – Quebec Remparts
Brandon Whitney – Victoriaville Tigres

Marcel Robert Trophy – TELUS Scholastic Player of the Year
Jonathan Brunelle – Cape Breton Screaming Eagles
Patrick Delisle-Houde – Moncton Wildcats
Jean-Philippe Mathieu – Rimouski Océanic
Michaël Bournival – Shawinigan Cataractes
Yanni Gourde – Victoriaville Tigres

Ron Lapointe Trophy – Coach of the Year
Gérard Gallant – Saint John Sea Dogs
Jean-François Houle – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada
Patrick Roy – Quebec Remparts

Maurice Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year
Joël Bouchard – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada
Martin Mondou – Shawinigan Cataractes
Patrick Roy – Quebec Remparts

Paul Dumont Trophy – Personality of the Year
Mikhail Grigorenko – Quebec Remparts
Jonathan Huberdeau – Saint John Sea Dogs
Nathan MacKinnon – Halifax Mooseheads

Please note that the following trophies will be awarded at special pre-game ceremonies held on Thursday, March 22nd and Friday, March 23rd: Michel Bergeron (Offensive Rookie of the Year), Raymond Lagacé (Defensive Rookie of the Year), Guy Carbonneau (Best Defensive Forward), Kevin Lowe (Best Defensive Defenseman), Robert Lebel (Best goals-against-average – Team), Jean Rougeau (Regular Season Champions) and Luc Robitaille (Best Offensive Team). Here are the nominees:

Michel Bergeron Trophy – Offensive Rookie of the Year
Anthony Duclair – Quebec Remparts
Mikhail Grigorenko – Quebec Remparts
Nathan MacKinnon – Halifax Mooseheads

Raymond Lagacé Trophy – Defensive Rookie of the Year
François Brassard – Quebec Remparts
Zachary Fucale – Halifax Mooseheads
Brandon Whitney – Victoriaville Tigres

Guy Carbonneau Trophy – Best Defensive Forward
Maximilien LeSieur – Shawinigan Cataractes
Stephen MacAuley – Saint John Sea Dogs
Frédérick Roy – Quebec Remparts

Kevin Lowe Trophy – Best Defensive Defenseman
Pierre Durepos – Saint John Sea Dogs
Morgan Ellis – Shawinigan Cataractes
Martin Lefebvre – Quebec Remparts


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s