Axeman Takes CIS Hockey’s Top Honour

AUS MVP Clark named CIS MVPAndrew Clark, a third-year centre from Acadia University, was named the CIS player of the year in men’s hockey, Wednesday night.

The native of Brandon, Man., became the third player in school history to claim the Senator Joseph A. Sullivan Trophy. He follows forwards Kevin Baker and Duane Dennis, who were honoured in 2005-06 and ‘93-94, respectively.

Clark won the AUS scoring title in his third season with the Axemen thanks to his 15 goals and 24 assists for 39 points in 28 games, a tally that allowed him to edge UPEI’s Matt Carter by a single point in the conference race. Named an All-Canadian for the first time in his career, the five-foot-10, 180-pound forward tied for the league lead with four game-winning goals, led the conference with 129 shots and was an important part of Acadia’s power play and penalty kill units. He helped the Axemen finish second in the AUS in penalty killing and third in power play efficiency.

In three seasons of university hockey, the kinesiology student has amassed an impressive 99 points in 83 league contests. Prior to joining the Axemen, Clark spent four campaigns with the Brandon Wheat Kings of the Western Hockey League, recording 40 goals and 78 points in 72 games in his final major junior season in 2008-09.

“We are very proud of Andrew’s accomplishments this year. He is a tremendous leader for our hockey club. To be in on over 40 percent of our goals is truly a remarkable statistic,” said Acadia head coach Darren Burns, whose team ranked fifth in the AUS in conference play with 95 goals in 28 matches. “His approach to the game is very refreshing as he is a very unselfish player whose only concern is our team’s success. Even more impressive was his ability to help so many first year players get acclimatized to university life and the game itself.”

In addition to Clark of number of other AUS standouts received honours from the CIS.

Moncton Aigles Bleus head coach Serge Bourgeois captured the Father George Kehoe Memorial Award as the Coach of the Year. Bourgeois, a native of Saint-Paul-de-Kent, N.B., joins three former Aigles Bleus bench bosses as Kehoe Memorial Award winners from Moncton. He follows Robert Mongrain (2006-07), Len Doucet (‘08-09) and Jean Perron (’82-83).

In his third season at the helm, following three as an assistant under Mongrain, Bourgeois led his troops to third place in the ultra-competitive Atlantic conference with an 18-9-1 record, one year after the Aigles Bleus missed the playoffs entirely. Moncton was ranked nationally in 16 of 18 weekly polls in 2011-12, reaching a season-high No. 3 in late November.

Bourgeois is currently prepping his club for his fourth appearance in the University Cup.

“Serge did a tremendous job leading the team to third place in the AUS,” said Moncton director of athletics Marc Boudreau. “He surrounded himself with quality people to guide his young team to a remarkable season. His players are successful both on and off the ice. He is highly respected in hockey circles in the community and the province, and we’re very proud of his accomplishments.”

UNB’s Kyle Bailey was honoured with the Dr. Randy Gregg Award recognizing his excellence in hockey, academics and community involvement.

In his fifth and final campaign with the V-Reds, the team captain from Ponoka, Alta., finished fourth in AUS scoring with 16 goals and 33 points in 27 games, including three game-winners and a league-leading 10 power-play markers. He wraps up his stellar university career with 65 goals, 88 assists and 153 points in 138 regular season contests, and ranks third all-time in career points at UNB, all games included. He joined the V-Reds after skating for Portland and Lethbridge in the WHL.

Bailey is currently enrolled in the MBA program, after earning his Bachelor of Business Administration degree in April 2011. A four-time academic all-Canadian, currently on target to achieve the honour for a fifth time, he was the recipient of the AUS Godfrey Award recognizing leadership, academics and community service for the second consecutive year.

In addition to his academic and athletic commitments, Bailey participates in both the “Read with the Reds” and “Heads Up with the Reds” programs at UNB. He is a volunteer in the weekly Special Olympics floor hockey program as well as community hockey camps, and is a role mentor and volunteer for the UNB V-Reds Prospects hockey program. This year, he also organized a special Big Brothers night for one of UNB’s games along with a dressing room visit for several of these youths.

“Kyle is an outstanding player for our team but as good as he is on the ice, he is an even better person and wholeheartedly represents our program in the most professional manner possible,” said UNB head coach Gardiner MacDougall. “Our hockey team has a major profile in the city, and the young hockey players in the community have the same dreams our guys do. Kyle and his teammates’ involvement in the community is a key to helping these children grow their dreams.”


Senator Joseph A. Sullivan Trophy (player of the year): Andrew Clark, Acadia
Defenceman of the Year: Marc-André Dorion, McGill
Goaltender of the Year: Real Cyr, Alberta
Clare Drake Award (rookie of the year): Zach Harnden, Western
R.W. Pugh Award (most sportsmanlike player): Kyle Ross, Saskatchewan
Father George Kehoe Memorial Award (coaches of the year): Serge Bourgeois, Moncton
Dr. Randy Gregg Award (hockey, academics & community service): Kyle Bailey, UNB


G – Réal Cyr – Alberta
D – Marc-André Dorion – McGill
D – Christopher Owens – Acadia
F – Andrew Clark – Acadia
F – Keaton Turkiewicz – Western (OUA MVP)
F – Derek Hulak – Saskatchewan (Canada West MVP)


G – Riley Whitlock – Queen’s
D – Jeremy Schappert – Manitoba
D – Jonathan Harty – UNB
F – Blair Macaulay – Manitoba
F – Dean Ouellet – Moncton
F – Brandon MacLean – Carleton

All-Rookie Team

G – Anthony Peters – Saint Mary’s
D – Teigan Zahn – Calgary
D – Mitch Fillman – Lakehead
F – Zach Harnden – Western
F – Michael Kirkpatrick – St.FX
F – Jordan Hickmott – Alberta


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s