QMJHL Awards Handed Out

Tigres forward Yanni Gourde took home the Jean Beliveau award as Top Scorer in the Q and Michel Briere Trophy as league MVP.

The Golden Puck Awards, presented annually by the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, were held Wednesday evening in Montreal. This year, twelve prestigious trophies were awarded to the most deserving personalities of the 2011-12 season. Five junior hockey legends were also inducted into the QMJHL Hockey Hall of Fame. Victoriaville Tigres forward Yanni Gourde was the big winner on the evening, earning the league’s top scoring award as well as the league MVP.

“This evening is a superb occasion to gather,” said the commissioner, Gilles Courteau. “Over 350 people were present to honour five new members to our Hockey Hall of Fame: Pierre Sévigny, Charles Henry, Steve Duchesne, Michel Goulet and Richard Brodeur. This event was made even more special because these legends received the recognition they deserved for their exceptional careers next to the biggest names of this season. In fact some of our award winnersmight one day become future inductees.”

For Moosehead fans, 16-year-old netminder Zach Fucale was selected to the Rookie All-Star Team, while Nathan MacKinnon was a victim of playing the same position as a older rookie Mikhail Grigorenko. This could be good for the Mooseheads as they get set to face Grigorenko’s Remparts in the second round of the playoffs. MacKinnon may take it upon himself to prove how deserving he is. It was shortly after not being invited to the Team Canada World Junior selection camp that MacKinnon was named Q Player of the Week and scored five goals in one night against those same Remparts. Food for thought?

Here is the list of tonight’s winners:

Jacques-Plante Trophy – goalie with the best individual average: Mathieu Corbeil, Saint John Sea Dogs

RDS Cup – Rookie of the Year: Mikhail Grigorenko, Québec Remparts

Ron-Lapointe Trophy – Coach of the Year: Jean-François Houle, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Jean Béliveau Trophy – Top Scorer: Yanni Gourde, Victoriaville Tigres

Marcel-Robert Trophy – Scholastic Player of the Year: Jonathan Brunelle, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles

Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy: Vincent Barnard, Quebec Remparts

Emile-Bouchard Trophy – Best Defenseman: Jérôme Gauthier-Leduc, Rimouski Océanic

Frank-J.-Selke – Most Sportsmanlike Player: Zach O’Brien, Acadie-Bathurst Titan

Michael-Bossy Trophy – Best Professional Prospect: Mikhail Grigorenko – Quebec Remparts

Maurice-Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year: Joël Bouchard, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Paul-Dumont Trophy – Personality of the Year: Jonathan Huberdeau – Saint John Sea Dogs

Michel-Brière Trophy – Most Valuable Player: Yanni Gourde, Victoriaville Tigres

1st All Star Team

G – Roman Will (Moncton Wildcats)
D – Jérôme Gauthier Leduc (Rimouski Océanic)
D – Xavier Ouellet (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)
C – Mikhail Grigorenko (Quebec Remparts)
LW – Yanni Gourde (Victoriaville Tigres)
RW – Frédérick Roy (Quebec Remparts)

2nd All Star Team

G – Mathieu Corbeil (Saint John Sea Dogs)
D – Morgan Ellis (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles and Shawinigan Cataractes)
D – Nathan Beaulieu (Saint John Sea Dogs)
C – Zach O’Brien (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)
LW – Jonathan Huberdeau (Saint John Sea Dogs)
RW – Sébastien Trudeau (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)

Rookie All-Star Team

G – Zachary Fucale (Halifax Mooseheads)
D – Nikolas Brouillard (Drummondville Voltigeurs)
D – Samuel Morin (Rimouski Océanic)
C – Mikhail Grigorenko (Remparts de Quebec)
LW – Anthony Duclair (Remparts de Quebec)
RW – Sven Andrighetto (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

QMJHL Hall of Fame Inductees

Richard Brodeur
Verdun Maple Leafs, 1970-71
Cornwall Royals, 1970-71 & 1971-72

Michel Goulet
Quebec Remparts, 1976-77 & 1977-78

Pierre Sévigny
Trois-Rivières Draveurs, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1980-81 and 1981-82
Quebec Remparts, 1978-79
Chicoutimi Saguenéens, 1978-79 and 1979-80

Steve Duchesne
Drummondville Voltigeurs, from 1982-83 to 1984-85

Charles Henry


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s